The official website of Punjab Education Foundation
New School Program


New School Program was launched as a pilot project in 2007 to engage private sector entrepreneurs in order to set up new schools in remote, distant and under-served areas of the province. NSP targets to establish schools in areas where there is access gap as government or private schools are unavailable or very few in number.

Region-Wise and District-Wise Number of NSP Schools

Region Districts No. of NSP Schools
Center Chiniot 33
Faisalabad 22
Gujranwala 08
Hafizabad 02
Jhang 69
Kasur 44
Lahore 14
Nankana 16
Narowal 08
Okara 28
Pakpattan 66
Sahiwal 14
Sheikhupura 11
Sialkot 07
T.T.Sing 19
Total 361
North Attock 07
Bhakkar 79
Chakwal 01
Gujrat 07
Jhelum 01
Khushab 34
M.B.Din 08
Mianwali 10
Rawalpindi 12
Sargodha 15
Total 174
South Bahawalnagar 125
Bahawalpur 201
D.G.Khan 164
Khanewal 43
Layyah 45
Lodhran 138
Multan 131
Muzaffargarh 436
R.Y.Khan 182
Rajanpur 41
Vehari 123
Total 1629
Grand Total 36. Districts 2164

In NSP, new schools are opened at sites where no formal government or PEF school exists within 1km radius of the site and there is population of approximately 350 people. In addition to opening of new schools, already functional schools in eligible areas are also invited to get affiliated with PEF-NSP. Moreover, schools are encouraged for up-gradation in order to improve transition from one level to another.

Salient Features

NSP not only strives for enrolment of out of school children but also focus on retention of enrolled students through:

  • Providing guidelines to partners to meet minimum required standards in stipulated time
  • Assessment of students’ learning outcomes by administering Quality Assurance Test (QAT) once every year
  • Monitoring and evaluation on regular basis
  • Capacity building of school management and teaching staff, especially targeting weak areas.
  • Orientation sessions for establishing a new school and keeping it functional in an effective way.
  • Development of Students Information System (SIS) to track each child enrolled in NSP.

Site Identification

The following procedure is adopted for site identification:

  • Potential sites are referred to NSP by School Education Department and other Govt. Departments, Public Representatives and Local Community.
  • Referred sites are evaluated through Geo-spatial tools by PEF-GIS team.
  • Sites short-listed by GIS team are physically verified by PEF monitors.
  • Final site selection is made on the basis of GIS and physical verification reports.


In addition to the schools affiliated with NSP in Phases I-IX the following interventions have also been made:

  • 14 Model Village Schools (MVS) are functional in 7 districts under tripartite MOU with 7 NGOs through respective district Govt.
  • 239 schools are operational in district Muzaffargarh through MOU with CSO.
  • 152 schools, 118 CCS and 34 CMS are operational in 3 districts of Cholistan jurisdiction under tripartite MOU with individuals through Cholistan Development Authority (CDA).
  • 18 schools are being run in district Muzaffargarh under Brick Kiln-I MOU with 3 NGOs.
© Copyright Punjab Education Foundation 1991-2023, All rights reserved.